ChEmference - 2023

The 10th Chapter

30th September, 2023 - 2nd October, 2023

Register for ChEmference

***Selected Abstracts will be published in reputed journal as a conference proceeding.

About The Event

ChEmference is a well-acclaimed, national-level conference in the field of Chemical Engineering and Technology in India which was initiated by the research scholars of IIT Kanpur in 2008. It aims for the promotion of young research talent and opens up an opportunity to showcase their innovative ideas or concepts before eminent academicians and industry professionals.

Starting from the year 2008, the event has been successfully organized by seven different Institutes namely, IIT Kanpur (2008 and 2010), IIT Madras (2009), IISc Bangalore (2011), jointly by IIT Bombay and ICT Mumbai (2012), IIT Hyderabad (2015) and IIT Gandhinagar (2016) followed by IIT Bombay again in 2018 and IIT Hyderabad in 2020.

This is the first time that BITS Pilani, K. K. Birla Goa Campus has got the opportunity to host its 10th edition in 2023 with more enthusiasm than before. Continuing the legacy, this year we plan to have plenary and keynote lectures by noted academics and industry experts in Chemical Engineering field followed by invited talks by young faculty apart from the oral and poster presentations from the aspiring students from various institutes like IIT’s, IISc, IISER’s, NIT’s, Central universities, National labs and reputed Private universities across the country. This year’s ChEmference will also include national level Sci-art exhibition on display apart from having a career opportunity platform for third and final year PhD students of Chemical Engineering.

This year’s ChEmference will also publish the selected research work in Springer Nature or any reputed journal (to be decided).

ChEmference 2023 will have a total six technical sessions over two days covering all possible research areas in chemical engineering and related fields. ChEmference 2023 will serve as a platform for research scholars from all over the country to showcase their work and meet experts from industry and academia. This will also provide an ideal opportunity for industry representatives to identify their interests in a particular domain resulting in collaborations and recruitment possibilities of some of the best talents around the country. Furthermore, some of these young research scholars will be potential faculty members in the near future and thereby potential customers for the best research products.


Department Of Chemical Engineering,
NH 17B, Zuarinagar
South Goa - 403726


Saturday to Monday
30 September to 2 October

Important Dates

June 01 - September 15, 2023: Abstract submission
June 01 - September 15, 2023: Sci-Art Image Submission
July 30, - September 15,2023: Notification of Acceptance
August 01 - September 15, 2023: Online registration (accepted abstracts)
October 05, 2023: Start of Full Paper submission
September 30 - October 02, 2023: ChEmference 2023 Conference in BITS Pilani, Goa

Registration Fees

For Student: 3,000 ₹ (Early Bird)
For Faculty: 6,000 ₹ (Early Bird)
                        7,000 ₹ (Late fee)
For Industry Delegates: 8,000 ₹
For Exhibition Stall: 30,000 ₹

Guest of Honour

Padma Vibhushan Prof. M. M. SHARMA

Padma Vibhushan Prof. M. M. SHARMA

Padma Vibhushan Prof. Man Mohan Sharma FREng (born May 1, 1937 in Jodhpur, Rajasthan) is an Indian chemical engineer. He was educated at Jodhpur, Mumbai and Cambridge. At the age of 27 years, he was appointed Professor of Chemical Engineering in the Institute of Chemical Technology (UDCT), Mumbai. He later went on to become the Director of Institute of Chemical Technology (ICT/ UDCT/ UICT), the first chemical engineering professor to do so from ICT. In 1990, he became the first Indian engineer to be elected as a Fellow of Royal Society, UK. He was awarded the Padma Bhushan (1987) and the Padma Vibhushan (2001) by the President of India. He has also been awarded the Leverhulme Medal of the Royal Society, the S.S. Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences (1973), FICCI Award (1981), theVishwakarma medal of the Indian National Science Academy (1985), G.M. Modi Award (1991), Meghnad Saha Medal (1994), and an honorary Doctor of Science degree from Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (2001).

The details of other keynote speakers will be updated very soon.

Tentative Schedule

Session Code Thrust Areas of Chemical Engineering
EM Energy Materials
ANN Advanced Nano-materials and Nanotechnology
ER Environmental Remediation and Waste Water Management
BBE Biochemical and Bio-Science Engineering
ACE Advanced Chemical Engineering: Process Modelling and Simulations
ICT Industrial Chemical Engineering and Technology

Event Venue

Event venue location info and gallery


The Department of Chemical Engineering at BITS Pilani K K Birla Goa Campus was established in 2004. In its early days, it was referred to as Chemical Engineering Group before it was referred to as a Department in 2009. It offers a strong integrated First Degree academic program (B. E. Hons.) in Chemical Engineering and also a dynamic Higher Degree Programme – M. E. (Chemical) that reflects the evolution of the Department. Over the years, the academic program has evolved in to a strong core curriculum complemented by electives in the important emerging areas of Chemical Engineering.

Our Team

Core Team

Faculty Advisor : Dr. Paramita Haldar,
Dr. Mrunalini Gaydhane
Student Advisor : Aakanksha M, Harshavardhan Thodupunnori
Overall Co-Ordinator: Dr. Paramita Haldar, Dr. Mrunalini Gaydhane, Prof. Sampat D. Manjare and Dr. Saurabh Patankar
Departmental Core team : 1. Prof. Srinivas Krishnaswamy (Head of Department) 2. Prof. Sutapa Roy Ramanan 3. Prof. S.S. Baral 4. Prof. Manjuri Kumar 5. Prof. Jegatha Nambi Krishnan 6. Dr. Asima Shaukat 7. Dr. Vivek R 8. Dr. Pradeep Kumar Sow 9. Dr. Richa Singhal 10. Prof. Anirban Roy 11. Prof. Sharad M Sontakke 12. Dr. Amol Deshpande 13. Dr. Sundari Ramji 14. Dr. Riju De 15. Dr. Upasana Mahanta 16. Dr. Jayita chopra

Session Chair

Dr. Ramya Araga NIT Warangal
Dr. Shankar Chakma IISER Bhopal
Dr. Arnab Dutta BITS Pilani Hyderabad
Dr. Arvind Kumar Gautam NIT Hamirpur
Dr. Avinash Chandra Thapar Institute of   Engineering and Technology
Dr. Shanmuga Priya S Manipal Institute of   Technology
Dr. Yamini Sudha Sistla Shiv Nadar University
Dr. Debdip Bhandary IIT BHU

Advisory committee

Prof. Dipankar Bandopadhyay IIT Guwahati
Dr. Abir Ghosh IIT BHU
Dr. Akshay Modi IISER Bhopal
Dr. Manohar Kakunuri NIT Warangal
Prof. Anirban Roy BITS Pilani Goa
Dr. Sushant Kumar IIT Patna